Prawning?

jimmycash

I am only new to fishing but i love it every time i go out. I am from windsor and have done most of my fishing down the hawksbury. Lured a few bass, and even caught a big flathead under windsor bridge. Been out to brooklyn and caught heaps of jewies all under size though. Most of my catches have been through luck not skill. I was wondering what was the best time to go prawning and some places to go. Me and my brother in law were hoping to go tomorow night but real don't have much of a clue. :1fishing1::1fishing1:

The dark of the moon is now upon us, the prawns should be running. Try The Entrance/Tuggerah Lakes or Long Jetty on the Central Coast or on the South Coast try Lake Illawarra at Windang. There is a favourable high tide in the evenings and prawns should run on the run-out tide. Carry that fishing licence and there are bag limits on prawns. Don't forget to keep a few live ones for the whiting and flatheads. Good luck fellas!

P.S. Wear waders or sandshoes in case of encountering a fortescue (see pic of the nasty thing)

post-869-1135851333_thumb.jpg

Cheers mrsswordfisherman

EVIL, EVIL, EVIL fish!!!!

Dont even try to get the buggers out of the net without pliers.......... its just not worth it!!!!!

I prefer to deal with the occys........ blue rings included!!!!

MY GOODNESS!!!!

I don't mean to offend but I reckon all these "HOT TIPS" are nothing but bum steers. Get down to your local Costi's and ask for 1kg of medium tigers-cost = between $19 and $25. It'll take you about 5 minutes and you won't need any fancy gear.

Those overseas prawns are not a patch on those beautiful fresh prawns you can catch yourself. The fun of prawning with mates on a hot summer's night is a whole heap better than fighting the crowds at the fish markets. When the prawns come in from Windang they are over $40 a kilo and the sweetest on the coast.

Enjoy your prawning jimmy, we may even have a lash this week ourselves. Yummyyyy :thumbup: