Trolling for Flathead

fishinaddiction

Trolling implies pulling lures for top or mid water fish.

Flathead are ambush predators on the bottom. Just drift over them.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

Edited by NaClH2OK9

Trolling for Flathead is a very productive way of fishing, a few trips back I decided to try something I have never done before

and that was to adapt my Eucumbene trout method of lead core line and tazzie devils.

Well I picked a likely spot and trolled up and down one of the beached in Botany Bay using 3-4 different patterns of devils,

I found 0.8 miles per hour the best speed for results and got fish from 36 to 65cm 5 all up with 2 of the patterns proving the most popular.

I have had many successful sessions trolling for the Flats and this method proved it's worth.

Frank

Flicking plastics on the drift is usually more productive however trolling lures over drop offs and channels or even just exploring is a lot more relaxing! But does get boring I reckon

Trolling for Flathead is a very effective way of targeting them, for many years the prestigious Gold Coast Flathead Classic was won by trolling deep diving minnows.

You need to ensure your lure is contacting the bottom, hence the need for deep diving lures. The best one I have used is the old classic Manns Stretch series (5+ and 10+ are classics), Downunder Boomerangs have also been very successful for me over the years too.

I normally like to troll parallel to a drop-off and it can pay to 'tune' the lure closest to the drop-off to swim into the sand of the drop-off itself. Trolling over sand flats can be very effective too as can trolling past the mouths of creeks and drains where Flatties will setup for ambush.

Haven't done a lot of trolling for Flathead in the Sydney region, preferring to cast but I have had limited success trolling for them in the Lane Cove River up from the Fig Tree Bridge. There are some nice drop-offs and sand edges to run here.