Beach fishing in Wollongong

niko123456

g'day guys, hope this is the right forum to ask.

I'm only new to fishing and for various reasons I'm diving straight into surf fishing.

I've bought a 12 ft rod and a bit of tackle and attempted to fish at both high tide and low tide, and "high feeding activity" according to solunar theory etc.. the only thing I haven't managed is a high tide at sunset or dawn.

So maybe I need to do that.. but I definitely haven't caught anything yet! I'm putting it down to a combination of rubbish casting technique (it feels like I'm never getting it out far enough), and probably a bunch of other silly mistakes too. Oh, and so far I've only attempted frozen pilchards halved onto a single hook, and whole pilchards on a gang hook.

does anyone want to try and point me in the right direction? I enjoy fishing, and I'm not too bothered I haven't caught anything, but I'm still pretty keen to finally land something..

sometimes I wonder if beach fishing was really the best idea to get started. :(

G'dat Nico and welcome to Fishraider. Fishing isn't the easiest of sports but if you do the right thing ,in the right place, when the fish are there and feeding...you will catch something. I suspect you are fishing in the wrong place and not using berley. Here's what to do. Find a place where you can look out to sea and look for where there's a break in the waves coming into the beach. The break in the waves is there because the water rises and creates waves when it hits shallows. Therefore where ther's a break it will be a bit deeper. These areas are known as gutters and are where the fish feed when the tide is coming in. Often they are not far out from where the water is reaching up the beach, so you don't have to cast far.