Transducer INSIDE a kayak

Holls

I'm hoping to mount my Garmin fishfinder transducer inside my yak. That is, attach it to the bottom using marine goop so it reads through the plastic. Anyone done this? Will the transducer work AS EFFECTIVELY as if you mount it so it reads directly into the water? Any experienced advice greatly appreciated.

Edited by Holls

I've done mine through the skupper hole with a bit of conduit and a screw holding it in. No holes in the yak and gets perfect reading, just need to be wary sometimes if you pull up on a boat ramp or steps that it doesn't get ripped off. I tried the whole through hull but could never get it working properly

I have a small Lowrance unit. I've mounted the transducer both directly in the water via a transom bracket and through the hull. There's no discernable difference. I even mounted the transducer in the hull facing the wrong way and it works just fine.

I've no experience with Garmins, but I'd reckon you shouldn't have any problems. Just ensure that when you place the transducer into the marine goop, that you roll it in (can be a bit tricky if you are placing it forward or back of the hatch lid and can't actually see what you're doing), so that you eliminate air bubbles.

Good luck with the project and let us know how you fare.

I think what Holls is talking about is mounting it inside the hull not through hull. I would assume it would work but haven't tried it. In theory what you mean is something like a wetbox setup. It works fine on boat so considering the thinner hull of the Yak it should be fine. Simply glueing it to the inside though and trying to transmit through the hull I'm not sure about. In a wetbox the liquid acts to help transmit the signal.

In a wetbox the liquid acts to help transmit the signal.