Illawong Bay

Fyshtryker

Ei!!!! Raiders, G'day!!!

Need some input on how to fish Illawong Bay, as I'm heading there this saturday with

my family for a picnic in celebration for Mothers Day.

It's my very first time in the area and we'll ber trying to drop some line.

a snag on a breams lips would make the highlight of the day.

Thanks heaps in advance for any input.

Cheers you Guys and Keepfishin. Bsafe.

Happy Mother Day to all Raiders' Mississess

Fyshtryker

Mate,

I've fished Illawong Bay hundreds of times, one of my fave LB spots because it's so kid friendly with the dunny close by and all. I've also snorkeled the area to get a feel of the terrain.

Here's what you want to do -

Fish only 3 spots -

First right in front of the ranger's guardhouse for whiting and flathead. Cast into the sandy area to your left or into the weed right adjoining the sandy area.

The second spot is 100m along the road (visible from the guardhouse), you'll see a clearing where cars are parked. This is the actual Illawong Point. You want to be standing at the top of the curve (where the metal guard rail ends) and casting to the middle of the channel about 50 metres away. Get the bait to the bottom and you'll be rewarded with Bonito and Bream at this time of year. Use the guard rail as a cheap and nasty rod holder!

The third spot is 10 paces to your right from spot 2. Just cast 20m or so straight ahead and you'll find a drop off where I've seen >75cm flatties caught.

Pillies and prawns are gun bait there, especially salted pillies work better.

Anywhere else along that area, you will be snagged and lose a crap load of gear, be warned.....

Good luck, enjoy your fishing and happy Mother's day.

Cheers,

Ash

Mate, i reallyx3 appreciate your advise and the time you spend responding to this query,

Now i know the exact spot to target, it will save me heaps of time scouting the area.

Mate, sorry to be a pest, :biggrin2: but I'm gonna abuse you now.