Double Braid?

coastie

Hi all

Im new to the sport of luring for bream and was wandering if someone could tell me why people double there briad before tying a leader?

And what benefit it has?

Cheers :biggrin2::biggrin2:

I dont double mine and never have had any trouble

Cheers Stewy

Hey mate,

I think whole idea of doubling braid when tying knots to leaders is to make the braid thicker so it doesnt cut through the leader, making the knot stronger... I usually doouble the braid when tying onto the leader just for peace of mind but its not necasary...doubling will also make your knot thicker and may catch on the guides affecting your casting abilty.

Cheers

Joe

I think a lot of people just always use a double i always use one when fishing where your going to be tracing the fish as it means extra strength between the reel and the fish if something goes wrong.

but as the guys have said not nessecary for light bream style and if your tying a spider hitch not a bimini or plat your acually weakening your line a lot

Hawkeye

i tie my braid straight to leader..... would the double be twice as visable underwater ?..... the only time i tie a double in braib is when where out game fishing and out a couple of smaller rods out to see if we can get some stripies for live or dead bait.....when i do that i use a bimini twist put a swivel on the end and clip the lure straight on which is pre riged with 150lb trace..... that way i can put some hurt on the fish and get him onboard quickly.....but other than that i dont tie doubles in any of my braid

Coastie,

Its well worth tying a double (bimini) in your braid. If you hook a big oyster cracking bream near a lease you will need all the strength you can get. Also bigger fish than bream eat soft plastics. Plenty of jewies have been hooked on bream gear.