Who Goes Out To Open Sea On A Smaller Boat?

caribet

My old boat has a 20 inch transom and 4.3 m long - just wondering who has headed out onto open water on smaller boats. What other factors would you consider important? (no doubt the weather) I am new to boating...What advice can you give? What is the best way to learn about crossing bars and general seamanship?

Edited by caribet

I regularily fish outside in a Quintrex Fishrunner 4.3, she is a beautiful boat and very capable, however this is dependant on the skipper (we have done the FADS and some other big trips)...... if you have an inexperienced skipper a Riviera 40 can end up in the shit and not be big enough!

Dont exeed your limitations, and their is no shame to calling a bar crossing because you dont feel right about it.

Take it slow and build your experience, and above all be realistic in your expectations of yourself and your boat.

Whats the make and model of yours mate..... that may give us a bit more idea of what it can do.

As Jewel has said the skills of the skipper are very important.

offshore conditions can go from good to bad in a second, make sure you check all the weather reports and allow for the reports to be wrong has there are rarely right.

Hey guy's

I am getting a 4.55mtr seajay with a 50hp tohatsu I am hoping this will get me out past the heads

am I right in thinking it would be limited to good days weather wise or would it be pretty safe most

of the time?

Coollamon

Edited by coollamon

Guest Big-Banana

You will definately have to pick your days, but that also depends on your experience as a boater