Best Jigs For Catchin Slimies From Bait Schools?

Hey guy's

Just wondering what bait jigs you gamefishing boy's use to catch slimey mackerel from the deep bait schools at the shelf & beyond to use as bridle rigged livebaits for marlin.

What sort of weight is best to get the jig down to the bait & the best tackle"braid threadline outfit or just

light overhead gear with a decent weight attatched"

Just fished at port stephens & had trouble catching slimies from the bait schools on the sounder,as i have

always used lure's only for all my trolling & also fishing on "SPINDRIFT"with jeff mostly for chasing marlin,

im a bit new to this livebaiting game,so any info or idea's would be much appreciated.

I found out on the weekend that at port stephens no livebait,on marlin.I fished one day with lure's &

only got a small striped tuna to put out as a livebait,but no marlin.But got a couple of livies before going

wide on sunday & got a small black marlin.

I think it's a great way to fish for marlin when the bait is available & i enjoyed it alot more than trolling

lure's all over the place to find one,plus the success rate for a solid hookup with livebait compared to a

lure,well everyone knows there is no comparison there.

thanks

steve

Edited by nexus

Hey Steve generally the slimy schools that are on the shelf are bigger than your inshore slimies, so I prefer to use the Black Pete Super Jigs in size 3/0, or size 6. The weight is dependant on the current etc. but make sure you have something heavy enough to get you down to the school.