Squidding In The Georges River

zephi

I just want to know whether Squid can be caught in the Georges River, I've been reading a lot of posts and most people recommend the Hacking River.

I'm new to squidding, so any tips would be helpful. I've had a look at those squidding articles already. I've seen a squid at Lugarno once, one night feeding on the surface. Back then I didn't have a jig so I couldn't confirm whether there was a shaol of squid around or just this one was alone.

Thanks

I couldnt catch a squid in the entire Georges river/botany bay system for love or money!

hahaha

Musty

Then I'm guessing Georges doesn't hold much squid then. I've only seen 3 squid in all my time fishing in Georges River. Twice was at night, one was during the day, it swam into the mangroves.

when i chase after flathead around capt cooks bridge, i see them follow my sp. occasionally i see ink all over the wharf. they're there but not often

You will certainly get them around the bridge as well as over near the public wharf but I am not sure about any further up into the river.

Dave

I probably wouldn't bother specifically targetting squid anywhere upstream from Captain Cook Bridge. You will get arrows around the bridge at times but probably better off focussing on areas in the bay such as any weedy or kelpy areas near kurnell, yarra bay, Laperouse. But the bay definitely isn't as good as the hacking for squid.

Good luck

thanks for the replies, I was assuming Georges wouldn't have too many squid, if they did they'd probably be regularly migrating up and down stream. Which would be hard to find and chase.

Caught one on a prawn a few years ago drifting for flatties just near the mouth of Oatley Bay. Pure fluke I think. We freaked out that mych we didn't know what to do with him and he eventually spat the prawn and swam off. There is some weed around those parts so you may have some luck in between Oatley Bay and Caravan Head.

Good luck.

C'n'R