Squid Jig Brands

Hey guys, I'm kinda new to squidding.

Just after some advice on what brands of squid jigs are good out there in the Oz market? I don't want to be spending so much money on those Yo-Zuri ones, cuz they're so expensive. (~$20?)

Are there any other brands out there, where people are having success with? I've used a Yoshikawa one, bought it at #####tackle shop for $8each. Got me 2 cuttles, before snagging it.

$8 for me is still kinda pricey, but if there aren't any other cheaper and effective brands out there, then I'll give Yoshikawa another go...

Spending so much money on quality jigs and snagging it, is really depressing lol... and I know, spending more will probably yield better results.

Thanks guys,

G'day Zephi, mate I use the yamashitas and they are pretty good, if they inkers are there they smash 'em , a good squid jig.

If ou are snagging up then try a lighter weighted jig , or customise a heavier bigger jig by shaving some of the lead off..

Cheers...

Thanks a lot for the info so far.

I was thinking of getting some Yamashita's. I was looking at an online website located in Australia. They're selling some Yamashita for $9 each (7cm)... doesn't say anything about lead weights. Anyway do they only have one set of barbs?

Is $9 each considered cheap?? gotta include some postage fees... probably $5

I can get Yoshikawa's, not sure whether this is a good brand or not.... but on that same website they sell for $13 each. Where I can get em, theyre $8 each.

I've had success with it so far... Anyone else use these?

On that same site Yo-zuri go for $22 to $29 each.... (expensive!)

G'day Zephi, mate I use the yamashitas and they are pretty good, if they inkers are there they smash 'em , a good squid jig.

If ou are snagging up then try a lighter weighted jig , or customise a heavier bigger jig by shaving some of the lead off..

Cheers...