Trailer Disc Brakes & Wheel Bearings

Mik

Changing Trailer Wheel Bearings & Disc Brake Pads

I had to do this job today, I was a little bored so I decided to document it for anyone who might like to try this themselves but doesn't have any experience with this kind of thing.

I want to say from the outset that I'm no expert, feel free to correct me if you know better or add anything you feel is helpful.

SAFETY

There are several issues you need to take care with when performing these tasks. I am going to assume that if you're reading this then you're probably not used to mechanical work all that much (Maybe you are & just want some basic starting pointers I dunno)

Jacking the trailer.

Make sure the ground is level, firm & can support the jack & the weight of the trailer. A perfect place is concrete but if that's not an option ensure the ground is firm firm firm. If there is any doubt a large block of timber with a surface area at least twice what the jack base is under the jack is advised. As a general rule the base of any jack will not be large enough to prevent the weight of the boat & trailer from pushing the jack into the ground in non firm conditions or worse, kicking it sideways & falling off altogether.

ALWAYS chock the wheels on the opposite side your working on. I'm fortunate enough to have proper wheel chocks for my work, but timbers or even sand bags will be better than nothing. Serious injuries can happen to if jacks fall or fail. Don't risk it.

TIP – once the wheel is off, a good additional safety back up is to place the wheel under the trailer so if it does fall of the jack the axle & trailer frame won't hit the ground. (Somewhere it can support the trailer if anything goes amiss without the springs hitting the ground) Single axle trailers are the most dangerous, dual axles are a little less hazardous because the second wheel will hold things up a bit if the jack fails.

post-3284-1263081281_thumb.jpg