Simple Service How To?

thomo

hi

thanks for this great new forum...

i always wanted to use oil and lubes for my reels but never knew how to...can someone please show me where grease should go and where oil should be used??..im not very good at in-depth tech stuff but just a general idea so i can do some minor/basic maintenance to my reels and try to keep them smooth..oh and i also got a couple of tubes of hot sauce but yet to use them, and is singer oil ok for reels?

thanks in advance..

cheers

tom

Edited by thomo

G'day thomo,

Thanks for the feedback on the new forum. From your question, I've got an idea to do a basic guide post for spin reels. I'll put it together in the near future, ask Alan Tani for his feedback, then post it with pics.

In the meantime, have a read of Alan's post about lubes here!

In principle, lubricants in reels have 2 purposes... protection and lubrication.

Heavy grease is very good at protection... it sticks & seals really well (a bearing packed with grease won't allow any water intrusion at all)... but will slow down the free movement of parts and bearings. So it's good for everywhere not requiring high speed free running. That means for example, I don't use grease in spool bearings in baitcasters/overheads (the ones that work during free-spool).

Light lubricants like reel oil, your Hot Sauce, or Alan's favourites CorrosionX and Xtreme Reel+, are less effective at protection but will allow the smooth, unimpeded running of moving parts. I use this sort of lubricant on the previously mentioned bearings, reel handles and so on.