Ceramic Bearings Vs Xtreme Reel +

I've been playing with ceramic hybrid bearings and I just got hold of a fantastic dry teflon lubricant called XTreme Reel+. I wanted to see what made the biggest difference to bearing performance so I used my Pflueger Trion LP baitcaster as a 'test bed'.

The importance of free-running bearings in a casting reel like this one is that it allows better casting distance, casting lighter weights, and surprisingly, fewer overruns (I think because less force is needed to get the spool spinning and to cast a given distance... I'm no engineer :biggrin2: )

You might have seen in my rebuild of this reel that the original set of stainless bearings in perfect condition, lubed with oil, gave free spool time of 20 seconds (with the cast control and centrifugal brakes backed right off). When I swapped in a set of Ceramic Hybrid bearings out of the box, the freespool time increased to 35 seconds.

A bit of playing around with lubricants and bearing combinations and here's some more results...

stainless bearings lubed with TG's Rocket Fuel - 20 seconds

stainless bearings lubed with ReelX - 22 seconds

stainless bearings lubed with Xtreme Reel+ - 30 seconds

ceramic bearings oiled out of the box - 35 seconds

ceramic bearings lubed with ReelX - 35 seconds

ceramic bearings lubed with Xtreme Reel+ - 40 seconds

The verdict. This lube is great but in a small baitcaster (that has a relatively light spool) like this, ceramic bearings make a much bigger difference. I'll be using a combination of ceramics and Xtreme Reel+ but if you only were going to do one thing to improve a small baitcaster, swap the bearings.

Cheers, Slinky

Hmmm interesting.....

Wonder what they would do to a Steez????

The Steez has to be the best light weight fresh water reel already and casts 20% further than ANYTHING else I own.

Then I have the Zillions and zillion PE's, now they could do with some souping up!

So when can I send them up to Tony's tackle? lol

G