Fishing Line For Shimano Tld25: Braid & Mono?

Hello Everyone,

I am new to gamefishing so please be gentle! :)

I have purchased two TLD25's with short shimano beastmaster rods (I think 15kg -24kg)

I will be mainly bottom bouncing in Jervis Bay and do the occasional trolling with lures and live bait.

From what I hear braid is the best for bottom bouncing due to its lack of stretch.

Both reels can take 600m of 30lb or 450m of 40lb.

Buying a full 1200m (possibly double this due to the reduced diameter of braid) of braid will be rather expensive.

Apparently, I hear I could maybe fill each reel with 500m of 15kg mono and uni knot 150-200m of 30kg braid.

Or is there a place that could sell reasonable priced braid by the meter in the shoalhaven area?

All ideas welcome!

Thank you kindly.

Hey sunset,

that is not a bad choice of reel a bloody tuff and a good work horse, yeah put mono down and then Top shot with your braid and when you go out trolling run say 40m or 50m of mono as your shock leader. But don't go too heavy with the shock leader(stay around your line class) as you wont get the absorption of the impact from the strike that you need. If you are still pulling hooks out of the fish back your drag down off strike.

what are you going to be trolling for?

Me personaly if I do any trolling I don't use braid!

but see how you go you can always take it all off and start again ;) .

Dave. :au:

Thanks for the replies.

Well I have never trolled before. So I am not too sure what to do.

So does everyone think I should stick to 600m of 15kg mono (Or 450m of 20kg ) mono? I would like to know soon

before I go out on the bay for some bottom bashing. Your info is much appreciated.

mono will work fine for bashing

not as good as braid tho as braid has no stretch but it will still work

you can get mono with very low stretch that would do the trick too

if you going to be doing more bottom bashing them any thing else might be a good idea to do what Dave suggested