Pinhole Repair In Aluminium Boat

james7

I recently discovered a very small hole in my aluminium 3.95m Stacer. It's about 1mm. I think the corrosion was caused by a screw getting under the flooring.

I've had conflicting advice about what to do. Someone suggested using a two part epoxy putty sort of thing. It costs about $20 a tube.

Others have said to get it spot welded by a professional. I haven't had a quote, but one boating place I rang said it would depend on several factors.

I have no knowledge of such things (and very little money at the moment), so any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Peter

Peter I had a similar problem many years ago , the hole was about 3mm in dia.

I used Plasti Bond , available from most hardware stores in small tubes.

Applied it , sanded back & painted. Could not see the repair & never leaked again

eoff

I recently discovered a very small hole in my aluminium 3.95m Stacer. It's about 1mm. I think the corrosion was caused by a screw getting under the flooring.

I've had conflicting advice about what to do. Someone suggested using a two part epoxy putty sort of thing. It costs about $20 a tube.

Others have said to get it spot welded by a professional. I haven't had a quote, but one boating place I rang said it would depend on several factors.

I have no knowledge of such things (and very little money at the moment), so any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Peter

drill it an 1/8th inch and fill the hole with a pop rivet and a good marine sealer/silicone.

Cheers

Peter

Knead It Aqua (the two-part epoxy putty sort of thing) works. Welding is probably better and might be the way to go if you want to work towards a top finish, sanding and painting the boat etc. but I have used Knead It for these little holes and it stops the leaks. :)

Baz

Welding it would be the best solution. If not I use a piece of Dynel Cloth and 2 part epoxy resin.