Some advice on lure selection and trolling tips

hey guys,

Im pretty new to the deep water fishing so im in need of some advice to get me on my first big tuna/mahi or dare i say marlin.

I tend to fish more coast/inshore but im starting to get out abit wider in search of bigger fish.

My tackle ranges from 2 saltish 50H with 400mtr 60lb braid and 2 tekota 500 with 300mtr 30lb. with a a coulpe jiggin out fit for those kings i dearly love.

On Australia day i took my boat ( 5.3 half cab with 100hp with NO out riggers) to the deepest widest ive been . We had a plan setted out. Botany bay Fad's - Fad's wide - 12mile reef - The peak- Home.

The fads had no signs of life what so ever and 12mile showed up pretty bear on my sounder but the peak showed abit of activity and only mannage a deccent bonnie of the jig. So after a day worth of trolling we landed 3 stripey biggest went for 5kg and a bonnie off the jig. I have a little range of lures but TBH dont know whats colour attracks what. post-6068-016046100 1296200287_thumb.jpg Out of the range i have here which 4 lures could possibly yield me some sort of fat tuna or mahi etc???

The lures ive only used and had running in my spread that day was The ballyhoo, black magic african worrior 4oz, bahama lumo green 7" Red and white feather lure. The ballyhoo caught the biggest stripey and the red and white got the most attenion and stripey that day no other species.

I was trolling around 8 to 10knots but from what ive read ppl like to do it at 6.5 to 8 knots??? Also when you troll out wide do you jus go out say east and head back in west or would troll north to south or what ever?? Some enlightening would be handy.

So excited i went out to buy a zuker dark purlpe lure as ive been told thats a hit for for mahi and tuna and was showed a pic of a mahi mahi at 14kg caught last week around the same area i was in :1yikes: . I can say it was a horse and would love to boat something like that :yahoo: