Beach fishing spots

snjlang

Can anyone recommend some good beachfishing spots ( i am just starting out)

Tried stanwell park yesterday morning from sunrise to high tide, couple of good hits but no luck,

Was using live beach worms, fresh pippies & pilchards

any suggestions would be appreciated,

snjlang

I think Beach fishing is a pain (sand everywhere, big swells) but I know alot of people who love it.

If you are a beginner you can try some breakwalls with the same stuff you are using i think it's alot easier for a beginner to learn how to fish and catch something.

Hi mate,

On the northern beaches try Long Reef to Dee why or if you can deal with a crowd north narrabeen. I like the pole sticking out of the sand on the south side of Dee why lagoon. Just look for a gutter in that area. I caught a big Jew there a few years ago. Most times I fished there I got something. If the salmon are on the bite you can catch some nice sized sharks as well. Been totally smoked there a few times by big sharks.

Cheers

Stanwell park is one of the best spots. Try fishing in the afternoon near the surf club. We usually catch salmon tailor flathead bream using pilchards. My mate caught a 18kg jewfish on pilchard last month. Just gonna keep trying mate. Wanda Garie Newport whale are excellent spots too.

Hi Steamers beach in Jervis Bay is an excellent fishing spot. It is approx 2.5 hrs south from sydney, but is worth the trip. You have to go through a trail about 2km long but trust me it is worth the walk, one of the best in NSW. If you need to know anything else just PM me.

The spot may not be the problem.

Beaches really are like a marine desert without some fundamental knowledge. Here is my two bobs worth. I might be preaching to the converted but since you say you are new, maybe not.