Adventures in a Tinny

TheHuffnpuff

Hello all,

New to the forum but I've enjoyed recreational fishing for many years, mostly land based freshwater coarse fishing. I have 2 boys aged 9 and 11, and I've just bought a little tinny hoping to make lots of great memories for the boys. I'm also new to Sydney, having lived inland most of my life with very little sea fishing.

We live in Penrith, and I was wondering if anyone had any practical tips in terms of how to make my boys experience as enjoyable as possible so they don't get bored and begin to dread time out on the water.

In particular I'd like to know: -

Good places to try out and what to fish for.

What type of fishing is most likely to keep them interested (salt, fresh, bait or lures)?

How long should I limit trips to?

Other things to do while in the boat if the fishing gets boring.

Can I let them drive the boat?

What should I take along with me (snacks, other fun things?)

What kind of tackle would be practical (rather than lugging things along with me that we probably wouldn't use)

I'd appreciate comments from people who have experience with taking children fishing in a boat.

All the best

Martin

Hello all,

New to the forum but I've enjoyed recreational fishing for many years, mostly land based freshwater coarse fishing. I have 2 boys aged 9 and 11, and I've just bought a little tinny hoping to make lots of great memories for the boys. I'm also new to Sydney, having lived inland most of my life with very little sea fishing.

We live in Penrith, and I was wondering if anyone had any practical tips in terms of how to make my boys experience as enjoyable as possible so they don't get bored and begin to dread time out on the water.

In particular I'd like to know: -

Good places to try out and what to fish for.

What type of fishing is most likely to keep them interested (salt, fresh, bait or lures)?

How long should I limit trips to?

Other things to do while in the boat if the fishing gets boring.