Squid - can you tell the sex of a squid

JET01

I went for a quick squidding session this arvo not far from my house... pulled out 1.9kg of squid in an hour. 700g of cleaned squid tubes, nice big dinner for 2!

Biggest (new PB) of 27cm (hood length). It pulled so hard i thought there may have been 2 on the end fighting over the jig.

As I wiping up the sink I noticed some small clear things that looked like clear pieces of arborio rice. I'm guessing they were squid eggs.

So my question is this. Is there any way to tell whether a squid is male or female?

Do we need to fish for them like we do for flatties and put the really big ones back?

Are there circuit times of the year where the females are more likely to be carrying eggs?

I've been squidding at this spot for a few months now and rarely walk away without at least a feed. So as I'm doing this a few times a week, I just want to make sure I'm not doing the wrong thing.

post-12306-093326300 1334572194_thumb.jpg

post-12306-050552700 1334572218_thumb.jpg

post-12306-013541500 1334572236_thumb.jpg

post-12306-051147400 1334572253_thumb.jpg

Edited by JET01

I went for a quick squidding session this arvo not far from my house... pulled out 1.9kg of squid in an hour. 700g of cleaned squid tubes, nice big dinner for 2!

Biggest (new PB) of 27cm (hood length). It pulled so hard i thought there may have been 2 on the end fighting over the jig.

As I wiping up the sink I noticed some small clear things that looked like clear pieces of arborio rice. I'm guessing they were squid eggs.

So my question is this. Is there any way to tell whether a squid is male or female?

Do we need to fish for them like we do for flatties and put the really big ones back?

Are there circuit times of the year where the females are more likely to be carrying eggs?