Bimini Twist

Hi Guys,

Im new to this knot and im having some issues. When I tie the knot a small section of the line closest to the knot gets tangled together. Is this just a cosmetic issue or can this effect the strength of the knot.

Is there anyway to stop this?

Thanks

Hi Guys,

Im new to this knot and im having some issues. When I tie the knot a small section of the line closest to the knot gets tangled together. Is this just a cosmetic issue or can this effect the strength of the knot.

Is there anyway to stop this?

Thanks

can u post a pic of your knot so we can see whats actually happening?

Photo is attached.

post-12550-073110600 1336556695_thumb.jpg

I think you will find that if your issue is caused by line twist, then there is no resolution for your problem. You are tying a bimini twist afterall. try a plaited double or an fg knot.

Cheers

I think you will find that if your issue is caused by line twist, then there is no resolution for your problem. You are tying a bimini twist afterall. try a plaited double or an fg knot.

Cheers

Thanks mate.

Does anyone else have this issue with the Bimini twist when using mono.

When you do the half hitches to finish the knot off are you pulling them tight down the line and then dragging them up to the knot...looks to me like the line has been stretched. Try only tightening the hitches when they are in position against the twists.

I use the plait for my doubles in mono. Way less prone to line burn in the knot process and personally think easier to tie.

Braid, I never use doubles. I think they weaken the braid so I just use an FG straight to leader.

Personally If I had that burn in my double I would retie it. It couldn't be anywhere near original breaking strain of the line.

I use the plait for my doubles in mono. Way less prone to line burn in the knot process and personally think easier to tie.

Braid, I never use doubles. I think they weaken the braid so I just use an FG straight to leader.