Importing a new outboard from the US

Croydon

Hi folks,

I'm thinking about repowering the 560C barcrusher with a new outboard, either a 115hp Yamaha or 140hp Suzuki 4 stroke. However the price locally is quite steep considering what they cost in the US. Has anyone looked at or had experience with importing a new outboard from overseas. I've made contact with the site sponsor Wye River Marine, who were very helpful but unable to assist.

Just toying with the idea at the moment as I don't know if the potential saving is worth the risk/effort as there is no warranty for grey imports in Australia.

So, does anyone out there have any info or experience to offer. Thanks.........

Dave

A lot of products imported from over seas have different components even if there the same brand and may cause you some problems if you need parts. I was a service manager in the office equipment industry for a number of years and we ran into quite a lot of import machines that people brought in. Mostly we wouldn't touch them as the spec's were different to the ones specific to Australia even though they were the same brand and came out of the same factory. The car industry is the same, import cars even though they are cheaper and in most cases have more features

do not operate in Australian conditions. ( Toyota Surf, Range Rovers etc ) Shop around there are some good buys and at least you will have some back up if anything goes wrong. Talk to Huey at Huett Marine they have different brands and back what they sell.

Regards Jeff

what i beleive the +'s are it may work out cheaper in the long run if everything went to plan and the motor out lives its warranty period with no hicups my -"s are you will not have warranty here in oz ,in the usa outboards are not sold with forward controls gauges and prop so you will have to purchase them your self later on and I dont know if a dealer (tech) would like working on your motor if something went wrong early in its life cheers dunc 333