If you could design one thing....

mhiley

I am an industrial designer and keen to know if there's one thing that you think should be designed in the fishing equipment realm of products, something to make it easier, or eliminate a problem, or just something you'd love to have. Or even something you think should be simpler and cheaper

E.g. Something to prevent weed hooking onto chrome lures when trolling

Cheers

Mark

ok mark i've go one for you that should be easy to make and market a lure that dives and work from left to right as well so it would need a bibb that has a rudder that pivots.the trick is getting it to change direction

let me know what you think cheers gary

Hi Mark,

I'm not sure if this is readily available in the market, I have only seen home made ones so far.

A line pre tensioner to assist in spooling empty reels with new line, something simple and basic (cheap).

Another thought was a tool to assist in tying knots, maybe something that could hold one tag end while winding or twisting the other?

Or even something to assist in picking up Squid by hand to divert the ink squirt away from the user.

Any way, just a few thoughts that probably won't amount to anything.

Cheers

Choicebro

A boat mounted rod holder that strikes for you. You preload down and lock. When you get a bite or take in a downward position, the rod unlocks and lifts the rod sharply striking the fish. Some kind of adustable force on the spring or whatever would be good too.

I thought about making one of these myself somehow as fishing for jew especially, you always need to holding the rod ready to strike if you want to convert the most strikes into hook ups. With one of these you can relax more or have a few more rods out aswell.

Edited by Roylo