Christening The Boat & Drama

nanman

Hi Raiders,
Like many others before me, I thought I'd share my special experience on this awesome forum.
After around 20 years of dreaming to have my own boat finally it happened. Last month I bought a second hand Quintrex estuary angler 420 from an owner who had hardly used it and had looked after it immaculately. The paint work is as good as new, no scratches & the 40hp Yamaha was top condition. I just wish I could maintain it in the same way but fear I may not be able to because I have no boating experience what so ever. In fact the reason for getting this boat was for me to get used to things so I can go for a bigger one later.
Anyway, I fitted it with a Lowrance Elite 7 as my primary aim is to fish in it but its was getting to almost a month sitting outside my house without getting a chance to put it in water. Finally though this Sunday I got my chance and so decided to take it to the Haweksbury for a test run with my family joining me on the maiden voyage. The main aim was to get to know the boat and get some practice at reversing, launching and loading back on to the trailer as well as to play round the Elite 7 and figure out how to use it effectively.
I was hoping the ramp would be not so busy so I could take my time but not to be it was quite busy. Fortunately though the people were quite patient and friendly so I was not too tense. After few attempts driving back and forward with my wife on the UHF guiding me, I managed to get it in the water. Then came the next challenge, finding parking and reversing on my own while wife & kids waited at the boat. The car park was full but luckily there was one spot left so I had several goes at reversing but it just didn't go right so I decide to do a circle to get the trailer straight but to see when I came back another guy reversing into my spot! Luckily I found another spot on the side of the road away from the ramp without having to reverse!