Some surface and a cracker on plastic

post-25384-0-21395400-1394426572_thumb.jpgpost-25384-0-10146000-1394427084_thumb.jpg

Apologies, but I've been pretty lazy with some of my pics :pokey: that are strewn across the desktop of my computer. However, had some success on surface back in the summer.

Here are some of them, most caught in lower harbour and georges river. It's not too difficult to catch a fish on surface, sometimes it's even easier to chase them off the top water.

Areas with shallow water with a bit of ripple are always good. Poppers are easier to use imo. Mono for a leader is not essential but I prefer to use it especially for smaller lures. I'm no expert (so take it for what it is), but just remember to pause and only do enough to keep the fish's attention. Too much and whiting will come up instead (which isn't necessarily a bad thing :sun: )

Poppers

post-25384-0-67793700-1394425454_thumb.jpgpost-25384-0-79572600-1394425533_thumb.jpg

Surface walkers

post-25384-0-17849500-1394425494_thumb.jpgpost-25384-0-04619900-1394425729_thumb.jpgpost-25384-0-16407900-1394425975_thumb.jpg

Also got a very nice bream 40TTT on a minnow plastic. Hop hop.... *tick* and *strike!*.... zzzz...zzzzZZZZ "woohooo" Sorry about the dirt on the fish but I didn't want to muck around with it to ensure it was quickly released. Hope it breeds many more babies.

Edited by nbdshroom

Exceptional work Pete!

That's a tremendous effort especially the horse of a bream. Must have pulled like a freight train :1yikes:

Good on you on the release too and for not keeping the fish out of the water too long.

I've only used mono once for surface and couldn't really notice any difference compared to fluro but I'll keep experimenting. I suppose it will more critical for smaller lures as you say.

And yes shallow flats are always worth a shot.

Keep up the nice work mate and thanks for sharing.

Ian

Exceptional work Pete!