stevemid

G'Day All,

Those of you who are members of Ausfish may have seen my thread over the last 2 years on 'Building a 23' catamaran.' Well the boat is built and I'm looking to get started fishing. I have been a long term sailor and over the years I have regularly sailed up to QLD in the winters from Sydney. The thing I enjoy most about cruising is fishing. The rule was, 'if I move, I troll' and I always tried to leave enough daylight after anchoring to have a drift around the bay to pick up supper. I've had plenty of luck trolling my red and white Mackerel Maulers. However, at age 67, the single handed deliveries from Sydney to SE QLD are getting a bit much, therefore I built the powerboat which I plan to fish off of around Sydney (continental shelf, coastal and harbour) and can deliver by road to Queensland and live/fish on it while I'm up there.

For some reason, getting started fishing around Sydney is seeming a bit daunting. I am just learning to drive the boat and I've still got to get it set up with rod holders, kill tanks, etc. And there's a lot of water in the Harbour and lots more between the Hawkesbury and Browns Mountain. I've never used burley, live bait or a fish finder. In short, I am hoping that going out with some experienced anglers might help me climb up the learning curve. So, it you are interested in helping our an oldy but a newby please reply or PM me with your situation/details. Here are my details.

Your name: Stevemid
Your Location: Manly
Fishing technique: Trolling, live lining, bottom bouncing
Availability: 7 days
Preferred location: Harbour and offshore
Provide your own gear? Yes
Provide your own boat? Yes

post-33724-0-22595900-1399165394_thumb.jpg

• 2 weeks later...

Nice boat mate good luck and hope you find a good fishing partner

Thanks matblack.

Still putting together the boat and acquiring equipment. Finally figured out a combo transducer mount and bait pump for the live well. Building a baitboard this week.

Steve