Mustang 1600

FatBoy

Hi all,

Anyone know much about Mustang Boats ??

I'm looking at a 1992 model Mustang 1600 half cab powered by a 1997 Evinrude 70hp engine. The guy is asking $12,500, hopefully i'll get it a bit cheaper...

Does anyone here have something similar ?? Are they a good boat, and is the 70hp enough to push it along at a reasonable speed ??

I'm still relatively new to boats, any advice would be appreciated...

Cheers,

Paul...

What, no replies ?? This is a first, you blokes are normally a fountain of info !! :biggrin2:

Ahhh well, i'm getting a mate who was a marine mechanic to check it out today, and hopefully take her for a run later this afternoon. All going well i should own it in the next few days...

I would consider a Stejcraft 4.7 Sports Fisher. I just sold mine and it was a fantastic boat. Before buying it I was looking at the Mustang and decided on the Stejcraft.

Goog news there is one for sale on EBay for $13500 in Wollongong. It’s a 2000 model with about 50 hours. It has a Mariner 2001 model 40hp oil injected motor, which should do the trick or trade it in and go up a size to a 60hp. On my boat I had 60hp Mercury and it was more than enough, even with 5 on board.

The boat I believe is a bit of a bargain and you would be a good $3000 below market price. I just sold mine for $18500 same year and model, only I had a bit more gear and a bigger motor with 246 hours.

My choice is Stejcraft over the Mustang

Cheers

Thanks guys - unfortunately it pissed down raining this afternoon so the planned test drive was aborted. Maybe later in the week i guess...

My second inspection was probably conducted through slightly less rose coloured glasses and i have to admit i noticed a few more little things that needed doing - just general tidying up stuff really.