Nepean Bass

Conor_B

Hey guys. I'm an Irish guy recently moved to Sydney and am wondering if anyone can enlighten me on the movement of Australian bass. So I've been targeting these fish for a few months in the nepean and the georges river pretty extensively, and while I usually catch on every trip they are never of any size...usually mid twentys. I have fished from yarramundi to the nepean gorge past penrith and am just wondering if the bigger models would live in these areas or if I need to fish further upstream. I hear of fish being caught in bents basin and camden and research tells me they keep pushing as far upstream as they can before coming back to spawn. So should I fish different areas depending on the time of year or will big bass live some of the areas mentioned? Someone even mentioned catching them at richmond and windsor, but i thought it would be too salty, so is this just pre/post spawn or would they live in this section all year round? I thought the best thing to do is ask people that actually fish for bass. Any help would be appreciated as I have put in a lot of time and research into catching bigger bass but with no luck. Thanks in advance.

• 3 weeks later...

quietest I've ever seen it conner, this time last year was a different story they were everywhere,Not sure about Windsor area but penrith has been very quiet unless you wanna fish at midnight but you gotta put up with the bats and mozzies and even then the bigger ones are hard to come by.When the going gets tough (live yabbies) that's all I can advise

what methods are you using ?

not many will give advice if they think you are using bait as a lot of smaller fish get gut hooked on bait v artificial lures

the fish are there all round, would be suicidal for a species if 100% of breeding stock moved at the same time