Future report syd harbour Sunday 14

mikei000

Hey fishos, heading out Sydney harbour tomorrow (with report to come) looking for our first kingie! Been chasing them for way too long now and I reckon the hoodoo has gotta be broken soon. I have fresh caught squid frozen last week and plenty of lures and micro jigs. Was thinking of attacking either north head or making a move south and trolling/casting all the cliff edges and around. If anyone has some helpfull tips it would be much appreciated and would definitely make for some good reading for yourselves tomorrow! A monster kingie would be a bonus but I'd be just as happy with a rat. Cheers raiders- mick

Hi Mike I'm no expert on kings but one thing I can tell you is that I find baiting/casting a lot more effective for kings. Ie. don't allocate too much time for trolling if your target species is kings.

Just a tip :)

Ah cool, I've tried a lot of trawling and only ever seen them follow the bait never hooked on thanks

Yeah same here I anticipate the catch of a 15 kg LBG soon I reckon I'll go the 29/06/2015, I'll drop a few lines when it's done ;):)

Ok I was only joking it's actually a funny "report" that demonstrates how pump you are, loving it!

For starters, you are trying to break the drought at the worst possible time of the year, not quite, July and August will be worst :) Yep, winter sucks when you're fishing near the shore. It doesn't mean there are no fish, but plenty plenty less.

Segundo: frozen squid >>>>> NO NO NO Once again, that doesn't mean you won't catch one but your chances are 90% inferior using a frozen, especially if you fishing near shore.

Better of keeping 5 days in the fridge than freezing. After 5 days, it really starts to be shit but from 1 to 4 days, top.

Hope that helps for next time, kingfish offshore, any clown can do, they would eat a sinker with a hook, kingfish near shore requires a lot more skills, kingfish from shore is THE challenge.