Keen to start yakking

allen_f

Hey raiders,

As a typical uni student, I think stretching the wallet for a boat is a silly idea so for some extra "cardio" and relaxing time I've decide to get a kayak. Not going to stretch my budget too far but I'm planning on getting one of the typical $300-$350ish kayaks off ebay. My questions is, as I know some raiders do possess one of them. As to how stable they are? I'm 178cm, and weigh 88kg (I promise it's mostly muscle ;)) Will it capsize if I'm fighting a medium sized kiny/salmon? I plan to get it by the end of my exams so I can hit the water ASAP. I will mostly be fishing the georges river and port hacking systems.

Also I plan to do alot of modifications to the yak when I get it. Love the DIY stuff, it will probably be along the lines of making stabilisers (either out of boat fenders or some sort of high density foam). As my car didn't come with roof racks, has anyone tried those temporary roof racks? Theres a big shop on sale atm and I've picked up a set. Hopefully they're okay, anyone had any experience with it?

Any other general tips and tricks will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks everyone!!