New to lures and braid - some help?

dasher

So I'm new to using braid and lures. For years it has been a running sinker on mono line, size 6 long shank and a prawn.

But now I am wanting to get a little more serious.

How do you guys do your rigging. How are you attaching you lures to your fluro leaders - knots or clips and then how are you connecting the leader to the braid - knots, swivels or swivels and clips?

Just trying to get an idea of how I should be going about running these setups.

Any help - much appreciated

Im still pretty new to the lures and braid game myself, but pretty much my main line is braid followed by a simplified FG knot to about 1-2 rod lengths worth of fluro and either a norman speed clip or asari clip (Or just straight to the lure if I feel like knot tying). Thats pretty much it.. haha I've been told that swivels etc effect the action of the lures a bit, although im still an amateur so I don't really know just how bad that it but I'm guessing it's unwanted. All my outfits run the same sort of system now even the ones for throwing bait. :) hope it helps and I hope an expert steps in for a few more tips I can mooch off of too hahaha

I am also a relative lure newbie so also interested in what others suggest. On my bigger boat rods I run braid to a mono shock leader (FG knot) to a snap swivel. I tie my trolling lures with a loop knot in flouro to a solid ring which I attach to the snap swivel. I also tie my paternosters to a solid ring, so I can switch between bottom bashing and trolling easily.

For my light gear I run braid to a mono shock leader to swivel, then flouro trace to plastic or lure. Uni knots for all terminal tackle.

Shock leader ~3m, flouro leader around 3'.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk