Dual Battery and VSR

Robsrock

I am a newbie to the forum having come from a forum that was more oriented to Vic Fishos so I thought I would reach out on a topic that no doubt has been well covered although I am looking for some specific advice.

I will start with a bit of a description of the set-up of the boat which has been in place and been functioning ok since I have had the boat (2011).

My rig is a seafarer Cuddy 2002 with a 90hp Johnson on the back.This was a replacement for a very similar set-up which was stolen a off my driveway in late 2010 ( two days before Xmas to be precise)

I am looking to get some advice on the twin battery set-up.

The current battery set-up uses the negative leads from both batteries and engine go into the battery isolator switch and both batteries are connected via the positives connected by a cross over lead - not sure if this ok as most oif what I have read is that it all needs to link back through the positive leads ??

I need to replace both batteries now as they are well past their used by dates and dead due to my mistake of leaving a few electronics on last week.

I also want to install a VSR so my question is. Will the VSR work with this set up and do I simply intersect the linking positive leads with the VSR? .

Need some thoughts here.

regards

Robsrock

post-38166-0-44967300-1455089128_thumb.png

Welcome Robsrock.

I hope you enjoy your stay at the Fishraider forum.

There are a lot of misconceptions around electrical systems in general because there are so many variables.

The blanket rules that many follow don't always apply.

Switching the negative will work but to to avoid potential issues you should follow the conventional wiring setup for dual batteries which is shown in the diagram below.

StandardBatterySwitchWiring.jpg

Cheers

Jim

• 4 months later...