Inherited vintage fishing Reel(Penn 200 Surfmaster)

Hey guys,

I used to go fishing with a friend's grandfather at Empire bay when I was younger, and when he passed he left me an old drag reel I left in storage. I want to start using it but both the manual is too discoloured to read. It's a Penn Surfmaster 200, 2 spools (the lighter plastic one is currently on it). It's oiled, perfect condition and came boxed with the aluminium spool and reel clamps.

I'm mostly around the harbour so the only other type of stuff I'd do is rock fishing. I was hoping I could get some advice:

- Which spool should I use? I understand that the aluminium spool would cause backlash if I'm not that good at casting (which I'm not)

- how much maintenance would it need, i.e takedown and oiling? every second or third trip?

- What line should I use if I want to focus on casting and avoiding backlash?

- What length rod should I aim for (from what I read I should be aiming for no shorter than 2.7m)?

Thanks in advance, even if to point me in the right direction for looking for info. I know potatoes about potatoes.

UPDATE: Photos attached. I haven't disassembled it yet given I want to do that when I follow the guide I found (Thanks Crossfire63!) when I open it up to work on it as opposed to just doing it for photos. Also I need to be careful of a couple of small parts that apparently spring out when I do.

Thanks again

post-39189-0-40133200-1464311559_thumb.jpg

post-39189-0-46004300-1464311567_thumb.jpg

post-39189-0-36158700-1464311571_thumb.jpg

post-39189-0-93711500-1464311574_thumb.jpg

post-39189-0-04479700-1464311578_thumb.jpg

post-39189-0-37959500-1464311581_thumb.jpg

post-39189-0-52900700-1464311584_thumb.jpg

Edited by DrChicken

They were built as a cheaper version of the Penn Sqidder