Rod And reel for soft plastic lure

Hi guys,

I bought the soft plastic lure and I'm new on it. I realise that I need a different rod and reel for this kind of fishing.

I would like to ask which kind of rod and reel I need to buy.

I normally fish in rock and sand spot and my target are Bream, flat and so on ........ I don't know the name of the fish.

My budget is about $150 for the rod and $150 for the reel ( more or less). I like to buy a good stuff and I really care about the brand ( I think it make always the different).

If you have any suggestions please don't hesitate to write me.

Thanks

Andrea

Hi Andrea, I'm no expert on this sort of fishing but I have had lots of success at it. Seeing that nobody has answered your question, I will at least give you my opinion. You don't need to spend a fortune on gear to catch Bream and Flathead, using soft plastics. The gear required is as follows (suggestion only).

A 2-4kg spin rod of about 1.8 to 2.1 m length and a 1000 or 2000 series reel. The rod and reel need to feel comfortable to hold. Remember that you will be doing quite a bit of accurate casting near structure for Bream. I have about 100m of 8lb monofilament, then about 80m of 8lb braid and a rod length of fluorocarbon in the range of 4lb -10lb, depending on what and where I'm fishing. Hope this helps, maybe other Raiders will offer their opinions for your consideration. Good luck with the soft plastics fishing. Big Neil.

My vote goes for Shimano Starlo Classix 7' Squidgy Spin Medium action and Shimano Symetre 2500 reel in that price range. The Shimano Raider series of rods are nice also and only a little more expensive.

I use 12 lb mono backing to 6 lb braid for my mainline as a good all rounder. If you are specifically targeting Bream you may want to drop to 4 lb braid.

Tight lines!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk