Fishing in Maroubra beach

Snapper81

Hi to everyone,

I would like to go to fish Monday (weather permitting) in Maroubra.

I have a rod shimano sentire nano series 1062 light surf 10'6 and a reel shimano baitrunner 4000 OC.

I would like to ask all the expert some suggestions about how I have to fish, which bait or lure I have to use, some good spot around there and so on.......

It's my first time to fish on the beach here and in this month.

Thanks anticipated

Hey mate!

I'm just a beginner fisho starting out, so definitely not an expert, but I've pretty much exclusively fished maroubra beach for the last 2 months and usually returned home with a feed of something 90% of the time. I usually have a surf rod out with a half or whole pilchard on 4/0 x3 ganged hooks with a star sinker and a smaller 6' rod with pillie cubes or prawns. Have caught 55cm tailor and 65cm salmon a few weeks back on the ganged and usually hook up to 1 or 2 flatties on the 6' rod. There are a lot of undersized flathead around lately but you'll usually be able to find a nice 40cm keeper. As for location I've fished the southern most point of the beach near the rocks, and caught a heap of trash fish (mainly kelpfish). Most of my success has been directly in front of the southern lifeguard building, I find the northern part of the beach to be too crowded into the afternoon. As for lures, wouldnt be able to help you there as I havent dabbled in the art yet! Also ever since the storms it's been REALLY kelpy everywhere so that's made life a bit harder.

Good luck! According to solunar charts mondays meant to be a really good day for fishing, depending on how my uni studies are going, I might even see you there! Look for the Asian guy with the yellow esky if you wana say hi ;)

Hi wangwang,

Thanks for your advise?. Absolutely I will looking for you on Monday to say hi and why not we can fish toughetar, I normally to go to fish only by myself.