Down rigger handline

Guest Guest123456789

Guest Guest123456789

Hi Raiders,

I'm a boating noob and never downrigged- could be a very idiotic question so hear me out.

Am I right in saying you need a downrigger that that has an arm that extends out the back of the boat to stop the downrigger and fishing line getting tangled in the prop?

If so, then could you get away with a handline on 30 lbs mono and a heavy weight that just hung straight off the back of the stern so long as the engine was tilted out of water? IE I would be using a bow mount motor to troll.

Thanks in advance for your help. Cheers.

Guest 4myson

I used to use the same a while back until I saw a set up known as a poor mans down rigger which works fantastic . All you do is attach a metal jig between 150 to 200 grams (with the hooks removed) about at least a meter in front of your baited hook & do a slow troll ( 10 knots ) . Not only does the jig work as a weight but the jig also acts as an attractant .... Works a treat !

Guest Guest123456789

Thanks 4myson.

I'll be using lures not bait. Guessing target depth could be as much as 20 metres, wouldn't 200 grams be far too light?

Guest Guest123456789

also attaching a lure 1 metre from your bait on your fishing name line means you'll have to drag the fish and the weight up simultaneously correct? I thought the whole point of downrigging was to keep your bait or lire in the zone and when the fish hooks up you then disconnect from the weight using a snap or rubber band. Or have I got this all wrong(very possible)?

Guest 4myson

Yes you will have to drag the fish & jig (weight) up the same time .. 200grams will not make any difference on any decent fish That your reeling in , as I said its a POOR mans down rigger. It works just as well on lures as it does on live or strip baits ... To achieve the depth you require just use lures with bigger bibs....

Edited by 4myson

Guest Guest123456789