Boat battery charger

Fishwithme

Hi guys,

I have recently boat a 4m tinny, it has a 100ah deep cycle battery which powers the fish finder, nav lights, and led lights.

I'm new to boating and am unsure how exactly this battery is meant to be charged. It is not connected to the motor.

It is held in place by screws so it's a bit of a pain to remove.

Any suggestions ?

What kind of charger would I need ?

And how would I charge the battery?

Thanks in advance

I think I have the ctek mxs 5. This one is 5amp with recondition function for stratification (happens in batteries that get discharged regularly). They seem to have many different chargers but I suspect that some of them have varying current supply, others have varying functionallity, ie recondition etc. I'm really happy with mine, have had it for a number of years now.

Matt

• Like 1

I think I have the ctek mxs 5. This one is 5amp with recondition function for stratification (happens in batteries that get discharged regularly). They seem to have many different chargers but I suspect that some of them have varying current supply, others have varying functionallity, ie recondition etc. I'm really happy with mine, have had it for a number of years now.

Matt

Thats also the Ctek i have, good little charger

• Like 1

Another thumbs up for the MXS5. Used to trickle the main plus an AGM used for the stereo and lights..

TC.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I think they are discounted pretty well in the current repco catalogue

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Like 1

I've been using a (M-100) C-Tek charger for my 100Ah battery for years and it's done a great job.....

PS> You might want to research battery sizes as 100Ah seems overkill for only finder & lights, especially when space is premium in a 4m tinny!

If you go for a CTek charger and will be charging the battery whilst still in place in the boat you can buy a quick connector (aka comfort adapter) on eBay which makes hooking it up very easy.