Quintrex 650 or 690 Trident anyone owned one? Had problems!?

Nick Fish

Hi everyone, 

This is my first forum post ever so I am new to this, my names Nick and I split my fishing between Sydney and Jervis Bay, love it! Having some major issues with my boat though and just want to reach out and see if I am the only one or not, I brought a Quintrex 690 Trident in 2014 and have had nothing but trouble since day one, paint bubbling on the top of boat, water coming in through scuppers, the bottom of hull filling up with water, warped on the side of the boat, and it is shorter than it should be by 22cm! Anybody owned one? Had similar problems? I want to compare my boat to someone else to get an indication of any difference or chat to someone who might be having the same problems, not having much luck with Quintrex

Cheers,
Nick

IMG_2970.jpg

Hi Nick,

Welcome to the site. Mighty fine waterway that Jervis Bay... haven't boat fished there but I spun a few flatties out of the creek before they closed it and I have had some exciting days chasing Tuna and Marlin of the Tubes.

I have a  2014  Quintrex 570 Laze about and some of these issues you describe have also impacted my boat.

Paint bubbling is a characteristic  of these boats and Quintrex don't warrant it. They say the bubbling is due to small imperfections in the alloy which may of may not be correct but they did fix a few spots for me as a gesture of good will and while there are now plenty of other spots certainly the parts they fixed have not resurfaced. Does that mean the imperfections have all "reacted out" or their  "fix" removed them. Who knows but I am tending to think bad prep may be the issue.

My boat leaks through the scuppers at rest when there are a few people standing at the back of the boat. The ball valve seems not to be very effective and mine has a 150HP on the back which adds some weight.  Not sure what the solution is there.