Soft plastics ans lures

Deekay87

Hey guys ive relised that this topic was covered not long ago buy another fellow fisher and lots of great reviews  and tips. I think im in a simlar boat. Ive watch and read every article and video i can possibly find. I know how where etc but cant nail it on the head. I have bought everything and more that id need and still cant land consistant fish on lures and plastics. Ive caught 3 flat head on a drop off from a flat but that was luck. Is there any fisho who wouldny mind teaching? I have other types of fishing covered ie jewies etc and all fish on baits. Just want to learn how to on lures and sack the baits. I fish at least 2 times a week. Every weekend 1 day without fail. Only lure fishing im a pro at is squidding. I know time and effort pays off so im willing to do what it takes. Ive had fish follow and they dont touch it ?

You might be referring to my post (if not, you should read it!). What I've learned is:

1. Target flathead as a starting species. 

2. Target drop off points and channels, likely to hold flathead.

3. need to cover a large area - I.e. be methodical with the casting arc (10 o'clock, 12 o'clock and 2 o'clock) before moving 10metres or so along the edge and repeating it.

4. Go with friends, together you cover a lot of area quicker - sharing the experience of the catch is great and boosts confidence.

5. Use 1/8oz size 1 or 1/0 jigheads for most applications. Berkeley power minnow 3" (colours; watermelon, pearl blue, pumpkinseed). Fairly light line (6-10lb braid, 8-12lb FC leader). Light rod where you can feel when the jig head has hit the bottom. Important to cover lots of range , use a heavier jigheads (such as. 1/6oz or 1/4oz) if it helps.