Hawkesbury River trip

mammoth64

Hi all, I hope everyone had a very Merry Christmas and that Santa was good to you all. I'm a first time poster on reports, so hope I don't sound to much like a whinger:unsure: but I'm an avid fan and hope to be adding more successful reports over the 2017 year and hope to get into the annual Hairtail event this year, couldn't last year because of work commitments.

Took the family for a fish yesterday Thursday 29/12 and decided to launch the boat at the ramp beside the F3/M1, I've been fishing on the Hawkesbury for a few years now although still have lot to learn. Been chasing the elusive Jew for a few years now, only soapies so far biggest to date is 690mm but I keep trying.

We arrived at the ramp at about 7am and was greeted by complete chaos, while the wife and the young fella went of the toilet, I readied the boat to drop in the water. I managed to get in beside a parked car and a Mobile home that had decided that the boat prep area was the best place for him to park. After backing the boat down to the ramp and launching it was now time to find a park for my car and trailer. What a wondrous adventure this was, cars were parked in the trailer parking area preventing anyone from parking a car and trailer, mostly people camping along the back tree line and of course more motor homes. Place looked more like a caravan park than a boat ramp. (I am truly surprised they haven't started charging to use the area by now)