Jindabyne

hamerz84

Gday guys been awhile since I've been on here glad to be back, question I have is, I'm going down to jindabyne next for work and will have he Thursday off to myself, I want take a rod but have never fished for trout. What gear would i need and what other species can I target ? 

Thanks in advance, hamerz. 

I'm far from an expert when it comes to targeting trout in a lake, but in general I target trout with a 7ft 2-4kg rod, 2500 sienna and 6lb braid with 8lb fluro leader

I personally use minnow style hardbodies  and celtas, you will also catch trout on worms

as far as I know there are brown, rainbow and brook trout in jindabyne

4 hours ago, savit said:

Consider also nearby Thredbo river (artificial bait only). There is a small tackle shop at petrol station just before the park which might help with local advice on lures, spots and bait.

Just to clarify, the Thredbo river is fly & lure only. No bait or artificial baits such as powerbait allowed. 

15 minutes ago, foolforjesus said:

Just to clarify, the Thredbo river is fly & lure only. No bait or artificial baits such as powerbait allowed. 

Mate, I agree with you re Powerbait for Thredbo river, however lures and fly are actually artificial baits.

On 09/02/2017 at 3:29 PM, savit said:

Mate, I agree with you re Powerbait for Thredbo river, however lures and fly are actually artificial baits.

Mate, I don't want to split hairs with you, but I disagree.

Lures are lures, flies are flies, soft plastics are soft plastics, hard bodies are hard bodies, and bait is bait.

For the youngsters or older generation on here just getting into fishing, this could be confusing.

Edited by foolforjesus

Just to add to the confusion can you tell me whether powerbait is "natural bait or artificial baiit" lol.

i have a feeling thats what ffj is getting at!

to me its an artificial bait as much as i hate saying it and thats where people may think its ok to fish powerbait in a blue ribbon stream lol.

peace!