Shimano catana

nutsaboutfishing

G'day fellow  raiders,

I've been using SP for a few years now, but recently I've started using lighter jigheads 1/16, 1/32 chasing bream. Currently I have a 6"6' Trion, but it occurred to me a longer rod would give be better casting distance. I've seen the Shimano Catana for $60. 

Is this a good rod? I've had a search around FR about it and people seem to have the 7" not 8" model. Obviously the 8" will cast further, is there a reason the 7" seems more popular?

Are there any other suggestions for a good bream rod?

thanks

Richard

Edited by nutsaboutfishing
Forgot to ask for other rod suggestions

The shimano catana is a good rod tho for a bit more money the shimano raider rods are an awesome plastics rod. I had a 2-4kg one but u can definately go 1-3kg for bream and flatties. They seem to be hovering around $130 but look around online and you should get it cheaper.

of course go try it out and see if you like it first

cheers

I own the 1-3 kg catana at 7 foot long and it does great on the bream with jigs from 1/32 all the way up to 3/4. landed some big fish on it but my personal favorite rod is the nexave its $120 and i feel like it has a lightly longer and smoother cast to it. None the less the catana is a great rod for the price  

1 hour ago, ARC H said:

the shimano raider rods are an awesome plastics rod. I had a 2-4kg one but u can definately go 1-3kg for bream and flatties. They seem to be hovering around $130 but look around online and you should get it cheaper.

at the moment they are on sale at freddys for $99

Catana is good for the price but pretty stiff. From memory the 8ft is a snapper rod so no good for light weights.

You'll be better off sticking with the trion.

As per arc's post, spend a bit more on a raider, they do a 7'6 bream rod which will be perfect for casting light lures long distances.