Operating dual battery

GoingFishing

Gday Raiders

The internet is a very big big place isnt it. You would think that with the amount of information available finding answers should be easy. These days i find too many answers, most of which contradict each other !

Anyway, looking for realtime responses from those who operate dual battery packs. When your out for the day fishing do you only use one battery or both ?

I dont run alot of electronics on board, just lowrance gps/sonar, evinrude touch screen and hardwired radio. Occasionally the pump for live bait well and deck wash will come on.

Would i be best off using one battery when out and about, and alternate between battery 1 and battery 2 on each trip? 

I’m no electrician by any means but why do you need a 2nd battery at all assuming it is 12v and you’re not running 2 x 6v in series? Is it for the leccy or just back up for piece of mind? When my project is finished I’ll have my trolling battery hooked up to a volt sensitive relay so when the alternator has the starting battery charged (starting battery runs the accessories too) it will automatically switch over to charge the trolling battery.  Good for those long weekends using the leccy when access to 240v (battery charger) is limited or non existent. I imagine your starting battery has the appropriate crank for the outboard. 

Hi Sam,

I run with both batteries on since installing the Anchor Winch (but in hindsight perhaps I should have been running that way all the time because of the specific characteristics of the motor that I have). I have no VSR.  There are several other considerations than just power drain/consumption requirements in deciding how you want to run. There are also different types of VSRs out there now, and depending which type you have and how your boat is wired can also be a consideration. 

I'm happy to draw and talk through a few circuit diagrams and their pros and cons with we meet up next week.