Screws + fixings on aluminium boat

seasponge

I’m relatively new to boating and bought an old second hand aluminium boat a couple of years ago. I am slowly learning all the boats do’s and don’ts, both on and off the water.

What is the practice for using screws/fixings into aluminium hull. I’m assuming 316 stainless steel, but then what about the use of dissimilar metals? I’m looking at two scenarios; outside boat below water (ie to mount a transducer bracket), and inside boat above water (ie to mount rod holders to inside back of boat and cup holders and fish finder display to dashboard).

Duralac on everything- dont forget even having two different grades of aluminium will potentially cause dissimilar metal corrosion. Nylon sleeves on fittings can be a help too- but its bloody hard to completely overcome.

It’s hard to know what’s the best way.

We use Tefgel as above as one option.  Fittings like rod holders we drill the appropriate size rivet holes and prime and paint them.   We use sikkafkex under the rod holders to seal them, rivet them down and clean off any excess.

Other fittings we have drilled over size holes primed and painted. We used nylon fixings with sikka or tefgel on and around the hole.

We avoid self tapping screws as much as possible.   They break the paint moisture gets under it, the aluminium oxidises and the bubbles grow from there.  That’s my take on it anyway. 

To us it’s all about stopping moisture and salt getting near raw aluminium at the fixing point. 

It’s a bit of mucking around.   Another thing we have done is wax the top deck off the boat trying to prevent any minute imperfections in the paint allowing moisture through.  That makes it slippery though.

I hope that helps.  Good luck. 

Edited by Welster
Typo
  • Thanks 1

Guest Guest123456789