Tips for fishing for bait eg yakka

Jords boi

Heading off to Cowan creek Friday night and staying over on a boat till Saturday arvo this weekend. Hoping to go after some Jew and some other stuff so we are looking to catch some yakkas and other baitfish we can live bait with. I’ve got a rod set up with a sabiki jig and have been told sometimes putting bread or squid on the end of the little hooks works sometimes. I’ve had some luck with yakkas at Waratah bay down on Cowan creek but was wondering what are some helpful hints and tips hunting yakkas. 

I’m only fairly new to fishing more seriously so am trying to soak in as much knowledge as I can from all you wise raiders so all your help has and will be much appreciated! 

JordsBoi

Edited by Jords boi

put squid on the hooks its tougher than other baits so stays on longer

and mush bread in a bucket with water and throw out handfuls here n there as burley

once you have burleyed them up you'll get as many as you want in 10mins

Edited by ARC H

You should find yakkas anywhere close enough to the ocean where the water is clear and clean.

Look close to the shoreline on  rock outcrops with kelp.

Like  Arc says burley up with soaked bread .. mix with a pilchard to add a little oil and fishing flavour. Don't over burley.

I generally use a small long shank and a small piece of pilchard towards from towards the tail end of a pilchard but as soon as I catch a yakka or a slimey I fillet it and cut it up into small baits... I think this works best and the yakka baits in particular are very firm when they are freshly filleted.

Cheers

Jim

• Like 1

As above and when I used a subiki I used a star sinker on the bottom the taught line seems to make them hook themselves (no give) but I bait all three hooks normally. They cant resist it. I have had good results with a handline small splitshot and long shank hook.

3 minutes ago, blaxland said: