Land Based Micro Jiggin - Help New

Spool

Hey people, I am new to micro jiggin don’t know much but have picked it up since top water lure never work for me don’t know why. But have had some good luck with micro jigs. Got few things I like to know.

1) For land based Breakwalls etc. what range weight jigs should I be using? 

2) I have bought some jigs but the action are all different. Can someone tell me what kind of different type of jigs there is and how the action are for each? 

3) Some jigs I bought they just fall quick I was looking for one that flutters at a steady pace. How do I tell which one is that?

4) The way I work the jigs is I let it sink then I jerk the rod quite hard about 3 lifts then let it sink and lay on the floor for awhile. I get bites like this. But what if I’m chasing fish that dont eat on the pause. What should I do?

5) I see people on boats they use the technique where they jig really fast jerking the rod non stop and wind. Is this technique can also be applied with micro jigging or it is different?

Thanks sorry for the rookieness. Look forward to learning few things ?

Edited by Spool

Have a look at this older thread.

I think essentially micro jigging is based on fishing from a boat with a vertical drop but with a change to technique in the retrieve there is no reason it wont work land based BUT it depends on things like the water depth & the current as in some circumstances it could be better just to use a SP I recon! 

Here in an extract from something I read online, I don't want to add the link as there is advertising on the page-

Flat shapes: These jigs fall horizontally through the water column and take longer to fall, vibrating during the descent. Such lures are better suited to shallow and calm-water situations.