New to Squidding

SydneyIsSkyBlue

Hi guys,

Long time reader, first time poster! ?

Following a spontaneous fishing trip on the Port Hacking a few weeks ago and witnessing an old timer squid fishing, I left intrigued and began reading up on it all. Fast forward a few weeks and I'm hoping to give it a crack.

I am an absolute rookie when it comes to this, but using this setup with an old rod I have:

- Tairyo 7', 1 piece 4-6kg graphite rod

- Stradic Ci4+ 2500fa spinning reel

- Shimano Sephia squid jigs (orange, pink and pilly)

I am thinking of heading down to Gymea Bay baths to try my luck. Has anyone got any other location recommendations I could also try?

I have also been looking at some of the Egi rods, but have been told by a family friend who's a keen fisherman that I'm wasting my time and money - keen for others thoughts though.

Any hints or tips would be greatly appreciated ? Looking forward to being part of this community!

Happy fishing!

6 minutes ago, SydneyIsSkyBlue said:

Would you guys recommend starting with an Egi rod?

Also, for those who have gone squidding at Gymea Bay baths, is it best to try in the baths, out in front of the jetty towards the boats or on the right hand side of the jetty?

Thanks! :)

I wouldn’t bother with an egi rod to start with although my landbased squid experience is fairly minimal.

The squid are right through he Hacking so anywhere there is a bit of sea grass or kelp around you are in with a chance.

Keep your eyes out for ink stains on the wharf where you are fishing, that will give you some idea if squid have been caught in the area recently. 

Any light spin rod will do the job but I prefer 7+ft long to improve distance.   I fish Hacking for them often and find the further upstream you go the more river (arrow) sqid and closer to ocean the more callamari you get.  Some of the rocks near ocean and fronting ocean can be good but you can lose jigs to reef and of cause only when sea conditions are safe to fish.