Squidding at Malabar/La Perouse

SydneyIsSkyBlue

Hey guys, 

Went out to see if I could nab some squid this morning at Malabar (next to the ocean pools off the rocks there) and then swung around to Bare Island later in the morning. Changed jig colours numerous times, changed the retrieval method etc. but all to no avail.

I'm pretty new to squidding and still haven't managed to land a squid despite 3 trips now and was just wondering if anyone has had some experience in these areas/are they still successful spots for those who have tried using a squid jig when land based there? 

I'm fairly confident I have my technique right and each time I've gone it has been mid morning to noon (which I'm guessing isn't prime time for squid), any suggestions on how I can maybe land my first Southern calamari?

Thanks ?

Edited by SydneyIsSkyBlue

They've gone a bit quiet at those two areas in the last few weeks.

If any were caught, it wasn't much from what I'm seeing reported (at most 1 or 2 per session).

If they're not there, any technique wont work really.

Hi SSIB,

If I am seriously chasing squid for a weekend's fishing then I will hit up to about 5 landbased spots till I have success. You mentioned Bare island - did you also work along the nearby shores (watch out it can get a little shallow so you risk snagging up jigs).

Work an area properly by fanning out your casts. Change jigs (maybe both a size and colour change) and then work the area again. Then change location and repeat the excercise. BTW I am assuming you have your own transport so location changes are not overly difficult.