Big Broughton Snapper

garfield28

Headed out at just after 5am Friday from little beach boat ramp with Port Stephens fish'o and fishraider member Jrcjamie.

I've been talking to Jamie for a good 2 - 3 years asking for tips and advice on weather conditions, certain species of fish etc.

I spoke with Jamie on Friday afternoon and after months of planning (me hounding him) Jamie was free to take me out on his boat and show me a few tips on catching BIG snapper.

Nicknamed banana for good reason by Scratchie I wasn't real optimistic as I've brought some good fish'os undone before ? 

Jamie told me it wasn't exactly the best time for snapper, it would be more a tutorial than anything but was confident he'd put me on a couple.

Arrived at an area and sounded up some reef and bait at one of his spots near Broughton island, and after showeing me his technique and explaing a few things he said go for it!

A couple of cast later my line come up tight and Jamie said you're onto a good fish here and it went straight under the boat, it was pulling hard like nothing I'd ever experienced before, any other time I'm pretty sure I'd lose this fish but Jamie talked me through getting it boat side where he netted it after dropping it and thought he'd lost it on me ? I could have hugged and kissed the bloke, cannot explain the feeling. 

I've never had a feeling like it, this thing was huge and I'd never thought I'd ever catch such a beautiful big beast, it has been one of my dream fish ever since I started trekking out through the heads, It was by far the best ever feeling, the pure power of this thing on the end of my line was something I could not get enough of, and little did I know I'd get to experience it a few more times during the morning.