Post your Fish Sounder Pictures Here

fragmeister

Hi Raiders,

I am by no means an expert on sounders so when I see something on a sounder I take notes of what I catch at the time and try and relate that back to the images.

I thought this might be a good ongoing post that many of us can contribute to including those who are particularly experienced in reading a sounder. So, by all means, post your own images along with your interpretations.

I am going to kick this off with one I took a few years ago. This one was near the gap on South Head, at the edge of the dropoff.

This is how I interpreted it.

Obviously, there was a big school of fish in midwater between 4 and 8 meters. It was winter so I thought it might be a school of salmon

There are fish on the bottom. I could only guess what they were.

There were fish on the drop off between about 6 and 10 meters.

By the colour of the bottom( and the fact that I know it is anyway), this was a hard bottom.

I am not sure what all the noise is under the fish at the right of the screen... is this noise or is it bait?

I did, in fact, catch salmon and a few small kings over this spot but were they stray fish... I don't know for sure.

I would appreciate any comments

image.thumb.png.d2727d3f8e00fffcea21f4377ebbf257.png

Edited by fragmeister
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1

I love Lowrance units, can I make a couple of suggestions on how yours is set. First press either the on button or the pages button to get to settings, click System then on the right of the page go to advanced, click open then click on User interface. Once in here click the auto hide menu to on, then click the x top right to get back out of this page (twice to get back to start up page).  This will free more screen rather than have the menu bar on the right permanently showing. To bring the menu back simply touch the menu tab top right of the screen at any time, this will hold the menu open for 15 seconds.