TheFreakyFlatty

G'day fellow Fishraiders,

I am a newbie here and have just recently started beach fishing along with my cousin TheSillySalmon. I have a beach rod however it is pretty average. I am just looking for some advice on what some of the best rods, reels and other tackles on the market are for beaches. At the moment I am aiming for Aussie Salmon however in the future I will also be trying to hook up some bigger fish like Jewies and other species. All answers are appreciated.

Cheers,

TheFreakyFlatty. :)

Welcome to Raider, FF. There are lot of threads here on this topic, so try using the search function. ?

I am biased towards Alvey sidecast reels for the beach and a suitable low mount rod. Alveys eat sand for breakfast and are virtually indestructible!

I’m not up to speed on newer rod models but something similar to a Butterworth or Snyderglass MT8120 should fit the bill.  That would come in at around 10ft long plus the sand spike. A 6in Alvey should be sufficient.

Having said that, my first beach outfit was a threadline outfit on that MT8120 rod, with a medium winch mount, which is required for a threadline reel. A 6000 series reel would probably do the job. 12lb mono is all you need off the beach, IMO, and will handle the usual beach species, including mulloway. If you decide to start specifically targeting jew, you could step up in tackle and use, say, 20lb line. I’m sure you could use braid but I don’t bother.

i hope this info helps as a start. Talk to your local tackle dealer. He’ll put a rod and reel in your hands and explain it all.

Good luck!

Incidentally, that 40 year old MT8120 threadline rod is still in use today, although I stripped it down and extended it with a longer timber butt and a gimbal mount, which made for a higher winch mount for an overhead reel and is used for high speed spinning off the rocks. “Is used” is perhaps not quite true as I mainly fish out of  a boat these days. ?

Edited by Berleyguts
  • Thanks 1